37 Shiv Sena MLAs proclaim Eknath Shinde as legislature party leader


Thirty-seven rebel Shiv Sena MLAs who are currently in Guwahati on Thursday wrote to Maharashtra Deputy Speaker Narhari Zirwal, proclaiming state minister Eknath Shinde as their leader in the legislature.

The letter also stated that Shiv Sena MLA Bharat Gogavale has been named as the chief whip of the legislature party, replacing Sunil Prabhu.

The rebel MLAs are demanding that the Shiv Sena should quit the ruling alliance formed with the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party.

On Thursday, the Shiv Sena sought the disqualification of 12 rebel MLAs, including Shinde, from the Assembly as these legislators did not attend a party meeting on Wednesday. However, the state minister claimed that as per the tenth Schedule of the Constitution, a whip is applicable to Assembly proceedings and not meetings.

Shinde said that the party could not scare them by seeking their disqualification, and asserted that his group is “the true Shiv Sena of Balasaheb Thackeray”.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.