Vice President Elections 2022: Polling to be held today


Polling for the Vice President will be held today in the Parliament House from 10 am to 5 pm. Jagdeep Dhankar is the vice-presidential candidate from the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) while Margaret Alva is the candidate from the opposition parties.  

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Janata Dal United (JDU), Shiv Sena, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIDMK) and Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) have extended their support to the ruling candidate Jagdeep Dhankar while Trinamool Congress Party (TMC) has decided to abstain from the voting.

West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata accused that the decision of the Opposition Vice President candidate was taken without the consultation of TMC which has 35 MPs in both houses.  

Mayawati said that BSP has decided to support Dhankar, keeping in mind the larger public interest and movement of the party.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha have extended their support to the opposition candidate Margaret Alva.

An Electoral College has been constituted by the Election Commission for the vice-presidential elections. It comprises 543 MPs from the Lok Sabha and 245 from the Rajya Sabha. Reports said that Jagdeep Dhankar will lead the vice-presidential elections as the ruling BJP has 303 members in the Lok Sabha and 91 members in the Rajya Sabha. Dhankar is likely to get 500 votes from other parties’ support while Congress has less support and its candidate is likely to get 300 votes only.

Senior BJP leader Jagdeep Dhankar was serving as West Bengal Governor and resigned from the post on July 18, 2022.

Senior Congress leader Margaret also served as Governor in Goa, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.

The post Vice President Elections 2022: Polling to be held today appeared first on APN News.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.